Frequently Asked Questions

  • How do I contact Discovery?

  • Our normal business hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM with the exception of our Claims and Policy Service departments, which are open until 7:00 PM. Claims Reporting is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Claims Reporting is for reporting new claims only.

    Our mailing address is PO Box 200 Kinston, NC 28502.

    Our telephone number is (800) 876-1492.

  • Where can I make my insurance premium payment?

  • You have a couple of options including mailing your payments to PO Box 200 Kinston, NC 28502, visiting your agency, or by contacting our office at (800) 876-1492 to make an electronic payment.

    You can also make a payment right here on our website by going to Manage Policy.

  • What form of payments can be used to pay my auto insurance premiums?

  • If you choose a company sponsored pay plan, Discovery accepts: Visa, MasterCard, Discover debit and credit cards and electronic checks. We also offer automatic monthly deductions from a checking or savings account. : If you are interested in signing up for ACH payments, please contact our office or your agent and request an Insured Authorization for Automatic Credit/Debit be provided to you for completion. Fees may be associated with these types of payments.

    If you choose to finance your premium, your agent will provide you with the form of payments that the finance company will accept.

  • What if I can’t locate my policy Declaration or other related paperwork?

  • You may contact Discovery’s Customer Service Department and request a copy or contact your agent.

  • If my policy is canceled or expired, can I contact Discovery and make an electronic payment?

  • No. If your policy is canceled or expired, you must contact your agent for further instructions.

  • Do you write insurance for motorcycles?

  • We currently only provide insurance coverage for personal automobiles.

  • What do I do if I am involved in an auto accident?

    1. Contact the police
    2. Collect the loss information including: description of and specific damages to all involved vehicles
    3. Collect the names, addresses, and phone numbers of all individuals involved including all witnesses
    4. Immediately notify Discovery of your claim by phone or by completing the on-line form
  • If my car is not drivable, can I rent one?

  • To ensure reimbursement, you should not rent a car until authorized by a Discovery Claims Representative.

  • Should I obtain an estimate of my damages?

  • It is not necessary for you to obtain an estimate. Discovery will assign an appraiser to inspect the damages to your vehicle.

  • How long after reporting a claim to Discovery will it be before someone contacts me?

  • Discovery makes every effort to contact you the following business day after receipt of your claim.

  • What limits of liability does the State of North Carolina require I maintain on my vehicle?

  • The North Carolina Financial Responsibility Laws require that automobile liability coverage be maintained. The minimum coverage requirements are $30,000 Bodily Injury for each person, $60,000 total Bodily Injury for all persons in an accident and $25,000 for Property Damage. North Carolina General Statute 20-279-.21 requires Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage limit, not less than the minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage limits required for your vehicle. Higher limits are available, and we recommend you discuss with your agent your specific needs.